Women in STIM

Increasing opportunities and support for women within the Science, Math, Informatics, and Technology (STIM) areas are top priorities for Indiana University Bloomington. As these fields take on increasing importance and visibility, the university is committed to ensuring that women have access to effective resources and opportunities for education, training, networking, and professional development.

Provost Funding for Women in STIM

The Provost’s Travel Award for Women in Science is a professional development fund, supported through the Office of the Provost. Initiated in the College of Arts and Sciences in Fall 2012, the award will supplement 100 trips for women scientists to conferences and research facilities in its first year.

James Musser, jmusser@indiana.edu, is the contact for the award. The provost plans to allocate similar funds in additional academic areas in the near future. 

Women in STIM Living-Learning Community

A residential program supported through the Office of the Provost provides an academically enhanced living and learning environment for undergraduate women studying in the STIM areas. Located in Forest Residence Hall, the Women in STIM Living-Learning Community provides women STIM students with access to a variety of resources tailored to their interests such as mentoring, facility tours, career development workshops, and internship and research opportunities. Students in the program enroll in a two-credit seminar course during their first year in the program that is specifically designed to cultivate the necessary skills required for a successful career in a STIM field.

Center of Excellence for Women in Technology

Supported the Office of the Provost, the IU Center of Excellence for Women in Technology (CEWIT) facilitates professional development opportunities for women students, faculty, staff, and community members working in or with technology. By developing leaders, advancing interdisciplinary collaboration, and enhancing the prominence and visibility of women, CEWIT aims to serve as a national model for empowering women to succeed in technology-related fields.

For more information, visit the CEWIT website.

Featured Video: Erin Carlson

Chemistry Professor Erin Carlson has received a National Institutes of Health Director’s New Innovator Award, a Cottrell Scholar award from the Research Corp. for Science Advancement foundation, and a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Award (also called the NSF CAREER award), which is the NSF’s most prestigious award in support of junior faculty. She is also an advocate of expanding science education for young women and girls.

News: IU Bloomington science professors Julia Heiman and Karen Kafadar elected fellows of AAAS