Media School Dean Search

Dean, The Media School

Indiana University Bloomington seeks a trailblazing, media-focused dean to lead the Media School into its next ambitious chapter. The Media School is well-positioned to continue deepening its successful teaching and research impact in media production, communication research, journalism, advertising, public relations, and cultural studies, while at the same time, nurture continued and new growth that will set the school as a widely recognized leader in the higher education media landscape. The ideal candidate will seize the advantages and talents within the Media School and raise it to national and global prominence. 

Formed in 2014, as a school within the College of Arts and Sciences, the Media School is composed of the prestigious century-old journalism program, the half-century-old telecommunications program, and over fifty years of film and media studies housed in the communication and culture program. The nearly 2,000 Media School students can choose from multiple majors linked to faculty in Cinema and Media Studies, Communication Science, Journalism, and Media Arts and Production. The Media School has an important, long-standing partnership with the separate Radio/TV department, which operates IU’s public radio and television stations. 

The dean, in collaboration with the 72-member faculty, will articulate a vision and strategic plan for the Media School that will strengthen interdisciplinary connections among the programs of the Media School with other schools of the university. The dean will foster partnerships between disciplines and institutions and creative industries in the region, and in other locations where IUB is extending its presence nationally and internationally. 

The Media School has 114 endowed funds with a total endowed value of over $27 million. Reporting to the provost and in partnership with the executive dean of the College of Arts & Sciences, the Media School dean will provide leadership for the academic and administrative activities of the Media School, further its legacy of contributions and its ongoing impact, and develop new streams of support for the Media Schools’ diversity of scholarship and depth of student excellence. The ideal candidate will have a sophisticated understanding of the scholarly enterprise, demonstrate a record of collaborative leadership, bring vigor and passion for the Media School’s educational and research mission, have significant depth of managerial experience, and be an effective fundraiser. 

In this effort, Indiana University Bloomington has retained Isaacson, Miller, a national executive search firm, to assist a university search committee. All applications, inquiries, and nominations, which will remain confidential, should be directed to the search firm.

To nominate a candidate or provide input regarding the search, please contact our search consultant Stephanie Simon at

Search Committee

  • Chair: Peg Faimon, Dean, Eskenazi School of Art, Architecture + Design
  • Tom Ackerman, Dean’s Advisory Board, The Media School
  • Akin Adesokan, Associate Professor of Cinema and Media Studies, The Media School
  • Sarah Booher, Chief of Staff, Office of the Provost (ex-officio)
  • Edward Castronova, Professor of Media Arts & Production, The Media School
  • Stephanie DeBoer, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, The Media School
  • Nancy Callaway Fyffe, Dean’s Advisory Board, The Media School
  • Griffin Gonzalez, Undergraduate Student, Journalism, The Media School
  • Emily Harrison, Director of Development and Alumni Relations, The Media School
  • Norbert Herber, Senior Lecturer and Director of the Media Arts & Production Unit, The Media School
  • Nicole Martins, Associate Professor of Communication Science, The Media School
  • Elaine Monaghan, Professor of Practice of Journalism, The Media School
  • Rob Potter, Professor and Director of the Institute for Communication Research, Communication Science
  • Xan Smith, PhD Student in Media Arts & Production; Media School Graduate Student Association Communications Chair
  • Sung-Un Yang, Professor of Journalism, The Media School